Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Problems with XFTA router

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Problems with XFTA router

    Hello Everyone,

    This post is in response to this:
    http://dsspros.com/forum/x-fta-route...tml#post146325
    I did not want to clutter up the thread.

    I am having some more issues with this setup, I am connected as a wireless bridge but i am having time out issues. There is no pattern it seems erratic, sometimes i can watch for several hours without any issues, but sometimes it will time out after 10 minutes.

    below is the setup:
    viewsat 9000 using wfemu 0.23
    Connection to CS server is successful and does work so i know user and pass is ok.
    using server:
    iksr.bz
    port 35922


    CW timeout is 12 ms, I have changed this to 20 ms and notice some better results. It seems if i stop and restart rq-SSP i get it back right away.
    Can anyone suggest anything to help with timeout issues.

    My ISP- very good, ping times are very low so i dont think my connection is the issue.

    Thank you!

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9,342
    Thanks
    9,538
    Thanked 13,112 Times in 5,694 Posts
    Rep Power
    145

    Default Re: Problems with XFTA router

    Quote Originally Posted by tribute3 View Post
    Hello Everyone,

    This post is in response to this:
    http://dsspros.com/forum/x-fta-route...tml#post146325
    I did not want to clutter up the thread.

    I am having some more issues with this setup, I am connected as a wireless bridge but i am having time out issues. There is no pattern it seems erratic, sometimes i can watch for several hours without any issues, but sometimes it will time out after 10 minutes.

    below is the setup:
    viewsat 9000 using wfemu 0.23
    Connection to CS server is successful and does work so i know user and pass is ok.
    using server:
    iksr.bz
    port 35922


    CW timeout is 12 ms, I have changed this to 20 ms and notice some better results. It seems if i stop and restart rq-SSP i get it back right away.
    Can anyone suggest anything to help with timeout issues.

    My ISP- very good, ping times are very low so i dont think my connection is the issue.

    Thank you!

    I changed my CW timeout to 5 and it helped.
    In theory it shouldn't work but it did. Just make sure you save your changes and rebuild a new config file every time you make a change in the sat menu.

    It could be on the server end also.
    What weatherforecaster firmware are you using
    Last edited by homer_™; 12-21-2011 at 11:10 AM.




    A man only becomes wise when he begins to calculate the approximate depth of his ignorance.
    Carlo Gambino



  3. The Following User Says Thank You to homer_™ For This Useful Post:

    redneckyankee (12-21-2011)

  4. #3

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Problems with XFTA router

    I dont actually have a WF, im using WFemu 0.23 which comes with the X-FTa dongle router.

    Thank you for your input homer.


    Im wondering if we can modify the firmeware, so that if we recieve a timeout the client restarts. It should only be a few lines of code. This would also produce a very small delay in picture, better then whats there now.
    Last edited by tribute3; 12-21-2011 at 11:04 AM.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to tribute3 For This Useful Post:

    bigkbox (12-21-2011)

  6. #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    9,342
    Thanks
    9,538
    Thanked 13,112 Times in 5,694 Posts
    Rep Power
    145

    Default Re: Problems with XFTA router

    Quote Originally Posted by tribute3 View Post
    I dont actually have a WF, im using WFemu 0.23 which comes with the X-FTa dongle router.

    Thank you for your input homer.


    Im wondering if we can modify the firmeware, so that if we recieve a timeout the client restarts. It should only be a few lines of code.
    I realize that, but at one point you had to load weather forecaster firmware onto your Viewsat in order for it to communicate with the wfemu sript on the xfta router.

    If you change the control word time out to 5 instead of 12 it will restart in 5000 miliseconds instead of 12, 0000 miliseconds.




    A man only becomes wise when he begins to calculate the approximate depth of his ignorance.
    Carlo Gambino



  7. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to homer_™ For This Useful Post:

    bigkbox (12-21-2011),redneckyankee (12-21-2011)

  8. #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    158
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 55 Times in 42 Posts
    Rep Power
    4

    Default Re: Problems with XFTA router

    set my control word time out to 2........from Gman's how to .....for setting up with NFPS

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to ynot For This Useful Post:

    redneckyankee (12-21-2011)

  10. #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    49
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 39 Times in 19 Posts
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Problems with XFTA router

    i got the same problem, after 10 minutes watching my vs is freeze, then i need to turn off and turn on the router again, and another problem with.. when i change a channel that dont have open on my p$ take like 2-3 minutes to change channel and get running..
    if i set time out to 5 will fixed the problem?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •