Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 32 Times in 21 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

    My friends set up is as follows:

    He has 1 dishpro (Dish 500) twin Lnb (I think its dual as it has two output) for 82/91, and 3 separate legacy dual lnb to pick up 119/118, 110 and 129.

    What switch combination can he use (using Zinwell 3x4 switches and Diseqc 4x1 switches) without using DishPro Switches (as he doesn't have them), to pick up all 6 directions for 3 receivers or at least for 2 receivers.

    Or would it be better to replace the Dishpro Twin Lnb with two legacy dual LNB for 82/91. If he does that, what would be the switch set up be. Thanks.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    At the Lottery Booth
    Posts
    3,801
    Thanks
    3,907
    Thanked 2,990 Times in 1,596 Posts
    Rep Power
    38

    Default Re: DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

    Quote Originally Posted by bestboy View Post
    My friends set up is as follows:

    He has 1 dishpro (Dish 500) twin Lnb (I think its dual as it has two output) for 82/91, and 3 separate legacy dual lnb to pick up 119/118, 110 and 129.

    What switch combination can he use (using Zinwell 3x4 switches and Diseqc 4x1 switches) without using DishPro Switches (as he doesn't have them), to pick up all 6 directions for 3 receivers or at least for 2 receivers.

    Or would it be better to replace the Dishpro Twin Lnb with two legacy dual LNB for 82/91. If he does that, what would be the switch set up be. Thanks.
    If you had all legacy lnbs you could use a switch 21 for sats 82/91 and send that to a diseqc switch in port 1 and use a special lnb for sat 118/119 and put to diseqc port 2 and then port 3 for 110 and port 4 for 129.Then configure settings in box scan and done
    http://www.gifsoup.com/view1/1526672/iron-maiden-different-world-o.gif





  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 32 Times in 21 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Re: DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

    Double posting of thread.
    Last edited by bestboy; 12-03-2013 at 10:47 AM. Reason: Double posting of thread

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 32 Times in 21 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Re: DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

    Quote Originally Posted by purriocity™ View Post
    If you had all legacy lnbs you could use a switch 21 for sats 82/91 and send that to a diseqc switch in port 1 and use a special lnb for sat 118/119 and put to diseqc port 2 and then port 3 for 110 and port 4 for 129.Then configure settings in box scan and done
    That means we will probably need 2 SW21 switches to get it working on two receivers. Any possibility of getting this set up to work on three receivers.

    Also if we were to take the DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB route for the set up, can we use combination of Zinwell 3x4 switches, Diseqc 4x1 switches and 22Khz switches (do not have DishPro Switches) to get all directions for three receivers.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    At the Lottery Booth
    Posts
    3,801
    Thanks
    3,907
    Thanked 2,990 Times in 1,596 Posts
    Rep Power
    38

    Default Re: DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

    You could give this a read and that may help you out
    http://dsspros.com/forum/sat-hardwar...tch-guide.html
    http://www.gifsoup.com/view1/1526672/iron-maiden-different-world-o.gif





  6. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to purriocity™ For This Useful Post:

    bestboy (12-03-2013),redneckyankee (12-04-2013)

  7. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 32 Times in 21 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Re: DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

    Quote Originally Posted by purriocity™ View Post
    You could give this a read and that may help you out
    http://dsspros.com/forum/sat-hardwar...tch-guide.html
    I read it and still little bit lost.

  8. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    201
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 53 Times in 42 Posts
    Rep Power
    2

    Default Re: DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

    Yeah 3 Receivers Huh..

    Man that's gonna be a pain but lemme think...

    82
    91
    110
    118/119
    129

    OK apart from buying an Expensive Multi Input Switch costing like $200

    You could go the Long Route...

    Try to Keep Up as I'm typing this as I'm mentally building it...

    Parts List

    4 x Standard Legacy LNB's
    1 x Advanced Legacy LNB (118/119 Combined)
    4 x Zinwell MS2X4RO-03 2x4 Multi-Switch $4.29 each on Amazon
    2 x 22 KHz Switches

    -----------------------

    Each LNB should have 2 Ports..

    Run both Outputs of Each LNB for a Zinwell 3x4 Switch like the ones Directv used to use..

    This would then convert 2 Outputs Per LNB to 4 Outputs..

    You would then connect the 82 LNB and 91 LNB (Example) to a 22khz Switch

    Then connect to a 4 Input Diseq Switches..

    ----------------------------
    OK I made a PDF

    Please keep the Laughing to a Minimum, It's Not to Scale..

    LOL..

    mem..
    Attached Files Attached Files

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to memorex For This Useful Post:

    bestboy (12-04-2013)

  10. #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    201
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 53 Times in 42 Posts
    Rep Power
    2

    Default Re: DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

    If you want to keep the 82/91 LNB Dish Pro then here is a Possible Solution..

    Mem..
    Attached Files Attached Files

  11. #9

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    201
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 53 Times in 42 Posts
    Rep Power
    2

    Default Re: DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

    If you can get Dish Mexico on 77'w then here's another Idea..

    Mem..
    Attached Files Attached Files

  12. #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 32 Times in 21 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Re: DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

    Quote Originally Posted by memorex View Post
    Yeah 3 Receivers Huh..

    Man that's gonna be a pain but lemme think...

    82
    91
    110
    118/119
    129

    OK apart from buying an Expensive Multi Input Switch costing like $200

    You could go the Long Route...

    Try to Keep Up as I'm typing this as I'm mentally building it...

    Parts List

    4 x Standard Legacy LNB's
    1 x Advanced Legacy LNB (118/119 Combined)
    4 x Zinwell MS2X4RO-03 2x4 Multi-Switch $4.29 each on Amazon
    2 x 22 KHz Switches

    -----------------------

    Each LNB should have 2 Ports..

    Run both Outputs of Each LNB for a Zinwell 3x4 Switch like the ones Directv used to use..

    This would then convert 2 Outputs Per LNB to 4 Outputs..

    You would then connect the 82 LNB and 91 LNB (Example) to a 22khz Switch

    Then connect to a 4 Input Diseq Switches..

    ----------------------------
    OK I made a PDF

    Please keep the Laughing to a Minimum, It's Not to Scale..

    LOL..

    mem..
    Thanks for your help Memorex.

    If we go with the Twin LNB scenario (No Dishpro), and If we limit the 82/91 directions to only two receivers, can I replace the 2 Zinwell and 3 22khz switches with only 2 SW21 switches. Therefore connect the two SW21 switches directly to the 82/91 lnbs, and then have the each output from the 2 SW21 switches going to the 2 Diseqc switches. Will this work? Thanks.

  13. #11

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    201
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 53 Times in 42 Posts
    Rep Power
    2

    Default Re: DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

    Erm I Don't think so as I believe that sw21's do not use 22khz switching..

    Actually it's been a while since I used one..

    Will see if I can dig one out..

    mem..

  14. #12

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    201
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 53 Times in 42 Posts
    Rep Power
    2

    Default Re: DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

    OK after a Little Reading..

    The SW21 Switches will Work with FTA Receivers however I have never done it...

    So yeah that might work provided the Diseqc Command does not Prevent the SW21 Switch from receiving the Switching Command from the Receiver..

    I have seen diagrams where the SW21 is wired Before the Diseqc Switch..

    Give it a Try and let us know if it works..

    mem.

  15. #13

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 32 Times in 21 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Re: DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

    Thanks I will give it a try.

  16. #14

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    201
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 53 Times in 42 Posts
    Rep Power
    2

    Default Re: DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

    Here's another Version with Less Parts..

    4 Zinwell 4x4 Swiches and 4 Diseqc 4 Input Switches..

    This Would Support 6 Satellites..

    3 with 22Khz and 3 Without..

    Can be made to support 8

    Mem..
    Attached Files Attached Files

  17. The Following User Says Thank You to memorex For This Useful Post:

    bestboy (12-05-2013)

  18. #15

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    173
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 32 Times in 21 Posts
    Rep Power
    5

    Default Re: DishPro (Dish 500) Twin LNB Setup

    Quote Originally Posted by memorex View Post
    Here's another Version with Less Parts..

    4 Zinwell 4x4 Swiches and 4 Diseqc 4 Input Switches..

    This Would Support 6 Satellites..

    3 with 22Khz and 3 Without..

    Can be made to support 8

    Mem..
    Thanks. I don't think we have any zinwell 4x4 switches. The ones on sale are expensive.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •